The Visit

You were right, when you said that, that day.

Right to be worried, and apprehensive.

I am unhinged.

I live with one foot in and one foot out.

Between that world and this world now.

I was born in Autumn, the time of falling.

I’m never quite apparent when you look to reach me

.I know, you are scared I’m not real.

Don’t be afraid, what I gave you was real, and I can’t give you much more than that.

I won’t make promises.

I’m no false idol.

I can’t promise heaven or peace in my untethered world.

I can’t even give myself a moment’s rest.

Don’t be upset when I drift below the trees, flowing in the unsettling, unpredictable breeze; carrying the seeds of trees, and roaming then disappearing whenever there is need.

I gave unto you, a specialty, a tiny world just from me, just for you.

That is yours, and no one else’s.

That you can carry in a locket, to comfort your anxious dreams, of whether I was real or just a figment of imagery.

Love doesn’t play favorites, none of us are in its favor.

Though it may seem differently, we all are beckoned by its fragile aroma, and when we try to grasp it, are torn by its thorns.

We are fools to think we can grasp something so precious, as a fragile rose.

The temptation to hold our hearts, overwhelms us all.

I was here once, I was like you.

We were roses kissed by the sun, and bit by our doom.

I was here, and so were you.

So strange, you never knew.

Strange, it was ever true.

 

 

 

© Zianna Libardo Valexia Valtero, 2016

Leave a Reply

