Preconditioning

I’m a withering beauty

Tightened skin and piercing bones
Arch my arms and point my toes
Shedding hair and scratching throat
I’m not the love my body chose

I’m a blossoming divinity

Supple flesh and flushed cheeks
Twist my hips and curl my knees
Blinking eyes and mouth watering
I’m not the love you took from me

This was not love
That I was forgiving
It is the fear
Passed to children

I am a misguided legacy
You are the teacher
Who taught me
How to bleed

Unlearn everything

Leave a Reply

