Him

I have his nose

I have his eyes

I have his mistakes

I have his lies

I have his broken promises

all the broken pieces of the hope he took along with him

I felt so vulnerable

was so young and susceptible

I pay for a life circumstance gave me

I pay for a life you stole for free

I will always have these holes

You lit the match

and she the chilled coals

I hope you’re happy

I hope you’re at peace

and have more than what you left for me

or have something better at least

She tells me how we are just alike

these things you gave me that I couldn’t fight

you talk like him and it stings like a strike

I don’t even know him so how can that right?

you gave me the poison and I evolved

grew through all the pain that was never resolved

we never want to be miserable alone

but I have learned to make my business my own

And if this hurts it’s my problem

and since he leaves, I am autumn

I will grow and I will be

I will climb these walls like Ivy

I was raised in these cycles of shame

wary of the burn of a flame

Fire should never burn too bright

stand too close and it will lick you alight

Don’t trust the actions of others

humans have a way of destroying one another

Promises are only for the divine

and people always reveal their humanity in time

I have shut my heart to your temptations

I have already had a taste of your devastation

I am as much immune

as yours actions steal and doom

your can’t manipulate me to ever be

I will never be your legacy

I am more than you ever were

and even if she can’t see it

I am more than what you did to her

and I will never forgive either one

for the things you gave me that I’ve never done

I hope you’re happy

I hope you’re at peace

hope you have all the things you stole from me

No I don’t wish you not one bad thing

Just that you have more than what you had to bring

Leave a Reply

