Negativity

Be conscious of your thoughts. What you choose to accept and ignore has a far bigger effect than you think. Don’t let other people think for you. Find who you are amongst your thoughts and strengthen that being. Think positive and you will be positive.

I know it is hard to get out of bad habits, especially bad thinking habits. Make notes of bad thoughts. Like judging and why you do it. I guarantee the reason is closer to home than you think. Do you doubt yourself?

When you go to do something, do you immediately second guess yourself and talk yourself out of being happy? Does not being miserable make you feel guilty or unsettled? Sometimes just by acknowledging the negativity as a defense mechanism we separate the negativity from who we are as an essence.

Slowly start replacing negative thoughts with positive thoughts. Whenever you catch yourself criticizing or doubting yourself stop and smile. Really big and ridiculously. Don’t take yourself so seriously. Stop and enjoy life. Most importantly stop and enjoy who and what you are.

When you feel anxious and stressed, stop and breath. Really slow inhaling and exhaling. On the inhale think “I am life”. On exhale think “I am death.” Everyday our cells die and new ones come in their stead.  Life and death is essential to the natural order.

Somethings have to die in your life for you to truly live. Negative thoughts, influences, and actions. Life and death are one and the same. Meditate on what needs to die and what needs to be given life. Find positive motivations in life.

Roles models. Quotes. Ect. Try to find one positive thing about your day, each day. Even if it is  really small. Whether it is a piece of clothing or the smell of your shampoo. Find things to be grateful for.

We are addicted to negativity. It is an addiction that goes unnoticed and unacknowledged through history, everyday life, and can even be passed on through our genes. Like alcoholics. It is important to make a conscious decision to want to be better.

If you don’t really want it, it isn’t going to happen. You have to commit to positivity and invest in yourself. Don’t be discouraged if you don’t see immediate results. It takes hard work and time to relearn positive habits. Egypt wasn’t built in a day and neither will you be.

For as long as I can remember I was always a worried and anxious person. Never comfortable in my skin unless I was distracted from my own mind. Even my mother has told me I was a very anxious child. I struggled with depression for seven years. Since I was in fifth grade. It took me until my senior year to want to really delicate myself to finding love and peace from within.

This a day to day journey from me. I had gone on and off from sophomore to senior struggling with my mind and what I wanted. As much as I wanted to find Ananda ((in Hinduism, Buddhism, and Jainism) extreme happiness, one of the highest states of being.) I didn’t know how to be positive.

Well, I did towards others. Just not with myself. I made the conscious decision to stop giving up on myself and to believe in me. I think you have to realize there is no benefit in hating yourself.

If you don’t love, honor, and respect yourself no one will. And it discredits our Creator. We are it’s art. We should do life justice.

Take time to find yourself, you might be surprised with what you find. I know I was.

Leave a Reply

